The essence of the Chakras

Updated: Dec 2, 2020

"The art of simplifying big ideas into short paragraphs of poetry"

Haiku is a Japanese style of poetry that consists of 17 syllables. While some forms of poetry are far more free flowing, this particular style traditionally was written vertically. Over time, the adopted 3 horizontal lines became the standard.

Denise Payne, my yoga teacher made me write haiku after almost each class. I often tend to use a lot of words to explain something. Haiku taught me to be mindful in choosing what comes out of my mouth. Making sure it comes from my heart, and especially making sure it captures the essence.

I would love to share with you the haiku I wrote about the 7 chakras:

(art from pinterest)

MULADHARA (root chakra)


A blossoming tree

Leaves move freely with the wind

Roots steady underneath

SVADHISTHANA (sacral chakra)

Little Warrior:

Dare to move freely

Feel your light from within

Shine it fearlessly

MANIPURA (solar plexus)


Now I will break free

Following my fire within

Nothing will stop me

ANAHATA (heart chakra)

Divine Presence:

The love lives within

You are a true reflection

Of the Divine I am

Light of our heart:

Divine reflection

Our light is the galaxy

It’s the light of love

VISUDDHA (throat chakra)

Universal hum:

Your drum may be heard

Sing freely now my sweet child

Together we’ll hum

AJNA (third eye)

Another World:

Dare to see the world

But not with the human eye

See the inner light


Universal Being:

Swimming in my stream

But of the ocean I’m part

Deep knowing of heart